THE VAULT OF HORROR presents the 2012 Cyber Horror Awards--the first horror film awards decided by the online horror-blogging/writing community. The fifth annual installment should be the biggest one yet, with participation from all across the vast horror blogosphere. If you're a blogger or other online horror critic and haven't received a ballot, please let me know and I'd be happy to include you!

Wednesday, July 31, 2013

2012 Cyber Horror Award Nominees

We're more than a couple months late, but here they are! Special thanks to my nominating committee, composed of:

Heather Buckley of Dread Central &
John Kenneth Muir, award-winning horror film critic and author

John Cozzoli, leader of the League of Tana Tea Drinkers horror blogger association
Christine Hadden of
Brian Collins of Horror Movie a Day
...and of course, yours truly.

So without further ado, here are your nominees for the 5th Annual Cyber Horror Awards, recognizing the best in horror film for 2012...  

Val Lewton Award for Best Film

The Cabin in the Woods, Mutant Enemy Productions

Prometheus, Scott Free/Brandywine/Dune Entertainment

The Woman in Black, Hammer Film Productions

The Innkeepers, Glass Eye Pix

Sinister, Lionsgate Entertainment

David Cronenberg Award for Best Director

Drew Goddard, The Cabin in the Woods

Ridley Scott, Prometheus

James Watkins, The Woman in Black

Ti West, The Innkeepers

Scott Derrickson, Sinister

Vincent Price Award for Best Actor

Michael Fassbender, Prometheus 

 Daniel Radcliffe, The Woman in Black

Ethan Hawke, Sinister

Jeffrey Dean Morgan, The Possession

Patrick John Flueger, Mother's Day

Jamie Lee Curtis Award for Best Actress

Kristin Connolly, The Cabin in the Woods

Noomi Rapace, Prometheus

Sara Paxton, The Innkeepers

Rebecca De Mornay, Mother's Day

Gretchen Lodge, Lovely Molly

Dwight Frye Award for Best Supporting Actor

Richard Jenkins, The Cabin in the Woods

Ciaran Hinds, The Woman in Black

James Ransone, Sinister

Frank Grillo, Mother's Day

Michael Biehn, The Divide

Linnea Quigley Award for Best Supporting Actress 

Sigourney Weaver, The Cabin in the Woods

Charlize Theron, Prometheus

Kelly McGillis, The Innkeepers

Janet McTeer, The Woman in Black

Imelda Staunton, The Awakening

Curt Siodmak Award for Best Screenplay

Joss Whedon & Drew Goddard, The Cabin in the Woods

Jon Spaihts & Damon Lindelof, Prometheus

Jane Goldman, The Woman in Black

Ti West, The Innkeepers

Steven Volk & Nick Murphy, The Awakening

Molly Arbuthnot Award for Best Costume Design

Janty Yates, Prometheus

Keith Madden, The Woman in Black

Varvara Avdyushko & Carlo Poggioli, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Tom Savini Award for Best Makeup

David Leroy Anderson, The Cabin in the Woods

Neal Scanlan, Prometheus

Jeremy Woodhead, The Woman in Black

Ray Harryhausen Award for Best Visual Effects

The Cabin in the Woods


Silent Hill: Revelation

Albert S. D'Agostino Award for Best Production Design 

Martin Whist, The Cabin in the Woods

Arthur Max, Prometheus

Kave Quinn, The Woman in Black

Bernard Herrmann Award for Best Score

David Julyan, The Cabin in the Woods

Marc Streitenfeld, Prometheus

Marco Beltrami, The Woman in Black

Karl Freund Award for Best Cinematography

Dariusz Wolski, Prometheus

Tim Maurice-Jones, The Woman in Black

Eliot Rockett, The Innkeepers

Dan Laustsen, The Possession

Caleb Deschanel, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter


  1. These are good, solid choices. I commend you and your associates!

  2. Thanks, Paul! It was a good year, lots of tough calls. I was also hoping for a nomination for Matisyahu in The Possession, and Idris Elba in Prometheus. Hoping to get your choices soon, sir!