THE VAULT OF HORROR presents the 2012 Cyber Horror Awards--the first horror film awards decided by the online horror-blogging/writing community. The fifth annual installment should be the biggest one yet, with participation from all across the vast horror blogosphere. If you're a blogger or other online horror critic and haven't received a ballot, please let me know and I'd be happy to include you!

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

2008 Cyber Horror Award Nominees

Val Lewton Award for Best Film

Eden Lake, Rollercoaster Films

Let the Right One In, EFTI

The Midnight Meat Train, Lions Gate

The Strangers, Rogue Pictures

Tokyo Gore Police, Fever Dreams/Nikkatsu

David Cronenberg Award for Best Director

Tomas Alfredson, Let the Right One In
Bryan Bertino, The Strangers
Ryuhei Kitamura, The Midnight Meat Train
Matt Reeves, Cloverfield
James Watkins, Eden Lake

Jamie Lee Curtis Award for Best Actress

Jennifer Carpenter, Quarantine

Mylene Jampanoi, Martyrs

Lina Leandersson, Let the Right One In

Kelly Reilly, Eden Lake

Liv Tyler, The Strangers

Vincent Price Award for Best Actor

Simon Callow, Chemical Wedding

Kare Hedebrant, Let the Right One In

Andy Serkis, The Cottage

Keifer Sutherland, Mirrors

Jonathan Tucker, The Ruins

Dwight Frye Award for Best Supporting Actor

Anthony Head, Repo! The Genetic Opera

Vinnie Jones, The Midnight Meat Train

Jack O'Connell, Eden Lake

Linnea Quigley Award for Best Supporting Actress

Morjana Alaoui, Martyrs

Julie Benz, Saw V

Lizzy Caplan, Cloverfield

Curt Siodmak Award for Best Screenplay

Jeff Buhler, The Midnight Meat Train

Pascal Laugier, Martyrs

John Ajvide Lindqvist, Let the Right One In

Scott B. Smith, The Ruins

James Watkins, Eden Lake

Karl Freund Award for Best Cinematography

Maxime Alexandre, Mirrors

David A. Armstrong, Saw V

Michael Bonvillain, Cloverfield

Hoyte van Hoytema, Let the Right One In

Peter Sova, The Strangers

Bernard Hermann Award for Best Score

Charlie Clouser, Saw V

Johan Soderqvist, Let the Right One In

Darren Smith & Terrance Zdunich, Repo! The Genetic Opera

Tom Savini Award for Best Makeup

Paul Hyett, Eden Lake

Greg Nicotero, Diary of the Dead and Mirrors
Yoshihiro Nishimura, Tokyo Gore Police

Albert S. D'Agostino Award for Best Production Design

David Hackl, Repo! The Genetic Opera

Tony Ianni, Saw V
Grant Major, The Ruins

Ray Harryhausen Award for Best Visual Effects


The Ruins